Day 3,650…….10 YEARS BABY!!!!

Let me set the stage, I had moved to Saskatchewan in ’98. Found the man of my dreams and we started dating in May of 2000. 2 days later I got in the van with my parents and moved 3,500 miles away. Where Joel and I dated long distance for 2 years. I think I had this idea that it would be like in the movies. We would write letters, and fall asleep on the phone after hours and hours of deep and meaningful conversation. I would come home to surprise deliveries of flowers and chocolates…..BOY WAS I WRONG! It was more like me having to call my Bestie to either  track down my boyfriend or give him a reminder that he was about an hour or more late for our scheduled phone date. I think in the 2 years we dated LD we hit the 1 hour convo mark maybe 5 times. Clear and simple it SUCKED! For any of you who have done LD you know the pain of it!!! we had time changes to figure out, work schedules and social lives to work around, He would come and visit and I would go see him out west but the whole “romance” of dating was not our strongest attribute! My favorite gift I got in the mail was when we had a big fight and I got a package. I opened it up and there was a stuffed donkey in the box with a note that said “hi, I’m jackass Joel” That donkey still is in our room to this day! It sounds like Im complaining…..I’m not trying to…ok, I wouldn’t say we had a pie in the sky, day dreamish like relationship but we had our good times and our bad times….and all those times make you stronger! In 2002 I moved back out West. Now we felt like a real couple. There was only one time to my horrific embarrassment I thought he was gonna pop the question and he didn’t. I still feel like a dork about that! although years later I found out that the reason he was so “off” on that day in particular was because he had just purchased the ring. He also carried this around with him on a few occasions just incase the right moment hit! Well, the moment hit on a rainy day in August. I said yes and I would say it again in a heartbeat!

8 months later we got married. My wedding was basically like “MY BIG FAT GREEK WEDDING” except we are from Guyana! It was huge and loud and went on for days! We had all the people that we cared about most in my life there and the coolest part is everyone of them that stood with us 10 years ago is still a huge part of our life!

I said I DO to my best friend that day and that was the smartest thing I have ever done!

We have had our fair  share of ups and downs. We know what its like to literally rub your pennies together and hope it makes more! our first anniversary we had no money at all. We took our bottles in to the recycle  place in town and got $7.00 we went to a starbucks and shared a cinnamon steamer and a piece of cake. And we were happy! It sucked, but we were happy! I often joke that “all you need is love” but I kinda think its true! maybe not ALL you need but it sure gets you pretty far.

In 10 years we have moved across Canada…twice, have had 4 kids and have #5 en route!, we have been poor and we have been comfy but haven’t been rich yet! We’ve had the same friends and have expanded to other cool cats that we share our lives with. We have laughed a lot and cried lots too. We have seen good days and bad days. And I would do it all over again with him. What the future holds we don’t know but we know we’ll face it holding hands.

I value the love Joel and I share. I see in a world like today its rare and I will not take it for granted. I know we are far from perfect but I also know that life has handed us some lemons and we have managed to get creative with what we made with them. I can’t remember what life was like before Joel was in it and I can’t imagine life without him.

So, on this our 10th anniversary I dedicate this blog to my best friend, to the man I have the honour of calling husband, to the most amazing father I have ever seen, to my partner in crime, and the man that always thinks I’m funny. To the man that works hard to provide for his family, And a man who is really loved by all who know him. To my wonderful husband Joel!

love you babe!

A

About princessalesha

I'm a mom to 4 crazy busy but super awesome kids. I have been married for almost 10 years to my best friend and hottest guy I know! I love to sing, i love laughing and being with my family and my friends. I truly have the best friends in the world! I believe that "what goes around comes around" and "if you want to have friends, be friendly!"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 3,650…….10 YEARS BABY!!!!

  1. akismet-f75b93f820c31c77d0eb4a4be0ea6d68 says:

    Congratulations you two on 10 wonderful years… I am blessed to know you both and call you my friends. And I’m still LOLing at the donkey Joel sent you… 🙂

  2. Sheleen says:

    This actually made me cry! I didn’t think I was such a softie. I got all teary-eyed when you said, “I said yes and I would say it again in a heartbeat” and then it just got worse from there. You are one of the most awesome couples I know and this made me love you even more. 🙂 So happy to have you guys in our lives!!!

  3. alicia says:

    I can attest to you and Joel truely being one of the most awesome couples i know. I love your family so much. Keep blogging – when i read it, i pretend we’re sitting in your living room eatching mashed potatoes and drinking chai lattes…a date i hope we’ll have again before long. love you friend and belated congrats on 10 years.

Leave a Reply

