The Journey Begins

Well its here. The start of what I fear may quickly become my newest obsession! This blog is really the result of a lot of people telling me to do it. If I’m being honest (I hear thats what you do on these things) I never thought I would get into the Blog thing. I never really read them and kinda figured I didn’t have much to say. Then my husband Joel and I decided we were going to uproot our family from our beautiful home in Southern Ontario and move across Canada to a small town of 400 people in Saskatchewan so he could farm with his dad. When people asked me what I was gonna do if I saw a snake, a mouse, a spider…basically anything that moves and I realized the answer was DUH, FAINT!  I quickly was convinced that this city slicker turned country bumpkin should probably start to record our journey! I also was informed that the only thing then finding any of those things in your house would be losing them in your house! So, I figure I should learn to shoot a gun! just incase them creepy things ever try and make a home in MY home.

Now, maybe I should explain a bit more about myself. I’m 33 I like pink and sparkles….and malls….and Starbucks and Tim Hortons! I value my family and my friends and I pride myself in truly having the best friends on the planet! I have learned that family isn’t always about DNA. Although my family is great so I am blessed on all sides ( I mean we all have our own splash of crazy but who doesn’t? oh, and if you don’t think your family does have a hint of crazy as a friend!) I was in my 20’s when I found out what a combine was!  Now, don’t get me wrong I’m not all she she fru fru but when the closest town is an hour and a half away I do feel a hint of panic sinking in. I consider myself a yoga pant wearing mama. however, I firmly believe if you wanna go for the ” cozy/ slob” look it needs to be deliberate! As in shower and put on a bit of make up or at least some product in your hair. And for the love of God make sure your quitters are clean! (quitters…aka. Jogging pants insert shout out to Sue and Steve here!) I don’t ever roll out of bed and hit the streets in my jammies! I have standards people!

So, here we are, in a small 2 bedroom house with our 4 kids and our dog! its COZY if nothing else. As long as I keep thinking we are camping I am fine! Our boys ( 8 and  6 yrs) have started into their new school and are doing amazing. They have new friends and will be playing hockey too! ( yeah, I’m sure that will be a few blog entries right there!) my daughter (3 )starts one day of preschool a week and my baby (19 months) gets to just run around and do what he does best…be cute…and wreck things! As for myself, well, I am considering this also a journey of self discovery. I want to try new things…like canning and gardening…and relaxing!

We have been here for a week and its been great. There is a learning curve to farm life for sure but the town is great and people are really nice. Sometimes I kinda feel like I’m on “Little House on the Prairies” everyone is so smily and nice and helpful. I went to the Co-op and they asked if it was on my “account” I didn’t even know what they meant. I was successful in meeting a few town people right off the start by having our dog Stella run away about 7 times on our first day. Nothin like a first impression! I also have learned the value of meal planing and shopping for like a month at a time. Although, when we dropped almost a mortgage payment a Costco I did feel a bit of panic. My favorite town moment so far was getting the truck stuck in the play ground at the kids school. Blending in has basically been an epic failure. I can’t really tell where the roads are, the ditches are or the sidewalks, I am afraid to admit I have driven in all of them so far. But its a journey and I am excited to be on. So come on, grab your coffee and join me on my journey as a PRAIRIE PRINCESS!

About princessalesha

I'm a mom to 4 crazy busy but super awesome kids. I have been married for almost 10 years to my best friend and hottest guy I know! I love to sing, i love laughing and being with my family and my friends. I truly have the best friends in the world! I believe that "what goes around comes around" and "if you want to have friends, be friendly!"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Journey Begins

  1. jim lee says:

    Look forward to more

  2. jim lee says:

    Look forward too more blogs

  3. Emmy says:

    I have missed your blogs, Lesh! I can’t wait to hear more about your epic fails…I mean journeys!

  4. I LOVE this!!! I wish I had done something like this when I first moved to small town Sask. Moving from Saskatoon to Imperial ….to an old farm house with no running water & an outhouse for this city girl was something that I can look back at now and laugh. You will too….I am so interested in your journey! Thank you for sharing your life with us!! And when I am home, I would love to get together with you!!

  5. Melanie says:

    Can’t wait to read more 🙂

  6. rlf79 says:

    Great first blog!!!!!

  7. Anne Stevens says:

    Love your honesty. Love all the feelings you expressed. Reminds me somewhat of our move to Egypt in 1989 – 4 kids ages 3, 5, 7, 9. What an adventure! We were in a 2-bedroom apartment with a dog and cat and bird! Keep the right perspective; and when you lose yours, Joel will bring you up; when Joel loses his, you will encourage him. And always remain thankful. Blessings!

  8. Anne Stevens says:

    Oops … that move was in 1998, not 1989 – I’m not quite that old!

  9. Ariana says:

    Love it! Can’t wait to read more entries! 🙂 I bet there’s gonna be tons of crazy stories that will give your friends back home a good laugh.
    Ps: You’re basically the Canadian Pioneer Woman now. Lol!

  10. Jill says:

    Awsome job Hon, looking forward to reading all about my sweet Prairie Princess and her beautiful family.. I miss them alot…

  11. LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! Cannot begin to express how excited I am for this blog!!! Tehehehehe

Leave a Reply

